They thought this coin proved their point, until...

Together with:

February may be the shortest month, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t packed with numismatic goodness.

This week, we start the month as we mean to continue it, with coins collected, silver stacked, and an interesting piece of history in a certain middle eastern coin,

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer in bottom of email):

Which ancient civilization is credited with creating the world's first coin?

Promotional content

It’s like if Twitch and eBay had a baby…

No, really.

Imagine the market of eBay, the auctions, the potential to get great deals you don’t find anywhere else - and the live entertainment value of Twitch.

Introducing Whatnot, the live video auction platform for all things collectible, including, you guessed it, coins, currency, and silver.

I’m already a devout convert. And you can get $15 free Whatnot credit with my link. I’ll see you at my next auction!

If you watched my video from a few weeks back, you know that I’m personally affected by the war in Gaza and the wider Israel-Palestinian conflict.

But one of the things that really grinds my gears as a coin collector, is the absurd narrative constructed about some so-called “Palestinian” coins.

Well, as always, I’m here to set the record straight - and stop you from falling for this hoax once and for all.

Check it out:

This week, a question from Reddit:

Personally, I love this idea. I’m a huge proponent of collecting US typesets.

However, I would point out you don’t have to limit yourself to a 20th Century typeset. The full US typeset is absolutely doable, it simply takes time. Collecting a typeset is a marathon, not a sprint. I’ve been collecting mine for close to a decade, for example, and I still haven’t completed it - and I’m no beginner!

But it’s the challenge of it that makes it interesting. And the feeling of completing a typeset is a pretty great one.

Also, the fact that a coin is from the 20th Century doesn’t make it less expensive than an older coin. There are plenty of old coins that you can get in mid-tier grades that are pretty inexpensive. A penny or dime from the 1800s can cost you just a couple of dollars, for example.

The bottom line? Get that typeset started - but don’t limit yourself!

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it - you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, the Lydians.

See you next week!

1