One For the Fans

This week, I’m giving a shout out to those of you who’ve taken the time to send me your appreciation of my channel through gifts and fan mail. I’ve received some pretty cool stuff from you guys, so wanted to spend some time on it.

You can check that out below.

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer at bottom of email): Whose portrait is featured on the US $100,000 bill?

This week on my channel, I open up the Silverpicker mailbox and go through some of the fan mail I’ve received recently. Turns out, my fans have some pretty great collections of their own. I expected nothing less! Check out the video here.

Want to be featured in the next fan mail video? Send your letters to:

Silverpicker
PO Box 1322
Bronx, NY 10471

This week’s question comes via Reddit:

OK. Good question, and it’s easier than you think. Here’s the gist of it:

When valuing world coins, there are two steps: Identification and Valuation.

Identification

Most people have trouble with this part. If it’s in an alphabet you can read, put all the words of the coin and its date into Google, with “Numista.com” at the end. Numista is an incredible resource, but I find it easier to search coins on Google rather than going directly through the site.

Numista will identify the coin and give you all the information you need.

If you can’t read the coin, I recommend using Coinoscope, a free app where you can take a picture of the coin and get it identified.

Valuation

I’ve got a video on this part, but it primarily involves looking at eBay sold listings. However, keep in mind that the values will differ based on the year, mint mark and condition.

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it - you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, Woodrow Wilson, the 28th President of the United States

See you next week!