Not Your Usual Newsletter...

Silverpicker Digest - Issue #7

(Updated as of 13/10/2023, 08:30 EST)

For reasons that I’ll explain in more detail below, this week has proved monumentally challenging for me.

Nonetheless, I’ve done my best to put together this week’s newsletter, and I’m proud to share the brand new design, starting with this issue. It’s packed full of content that I truly believe is useful to all numismatists - whatever their level of expertise. It’s a newsletter that I would want to read myself.

Let me know your thoughts by replying to this email.

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer at the bottom of this email): What famous coin is illegal to own?

A Quick Note

This week is different.

I promise we’ll get to the coins in a moment, but I wanted to take a moment to draw your attention to something that’s very important to me.

If you’ve tuned into my channel in the last couple of days, you’ll know that the current war between Israel and Hamas affects me in a very personal way. To learn more, and to find out how you can help, check out my video here.

Promotional content:

Your coin and precious metals partner

The reality is that buying online has its pitfalls. With so many vendors and sites offering coins and collectibles, and with no way to inspect the goods in person, it’s basically impossible to know who you can trust.

That’s why Apmex should be your first port of call when it comes to buying coins, precious metals, and collectibles. No fake silver here. Just exactly what you want, at the fairest prices.

As you may already know, you can go very wrong when buying collections from people online. What might seem like a bumper package full of value, can easily turn out to be a bag of fake silver and disappointment.

This week on my channel, I bought another collection of coins. While it’s a small one this time around, it more than makes up for its size with its quality.

To see what I got, check out this week’s video.

This week, a question from Quora:

A great question. To answer, let’s divide coin collecting into two categories:

  1. Numismatics - collectible coins

  2. Silver stacking - precious metals

When it comes to our first category, I would say it’s definitely not a good idea to consider it as part of your retirement. Even though the coin market has remained strong overall over the last few decades, there have been peaks and troughs. Because it’s a collectible, it’s simply not as stable as traditional investments. In times of economic turmoil, collectibles will often lose value very quickly.

For your retirement, you want more stable, lower and slower growth investments. As a young person, I would focus on buying and selling coins to make money, which you could then put towards these longer-term investments.

Which brings us to silver stacking and precious metals investing. There’s nothing wrong with allocating a small percentage of your retirement portfolio to these investments, which are especially useful in disaster situations like a zombie apocalypse or something similar. They’re a good hedge against inflation, but I’d say that no more than 10% of your net worth should be in precious metals. For me personally, it sits at around 5%.

The only sure-fire way to be a millionaire in retirement

The best thing you can do for your retirement? Open up a Roth IRA. I’m no financial advisor, but I did make a video on this exact topic.

 List: PCGS Ranks the Top 100 Modern Coins. I don’t know about #1…

 Learn: Know how to Value Old Coins. Learn in less than 15 minutes!

 Watch: Classic Silverpicker video, eBay Coin Grab Bag from Russia!

 Browse: Check out the CoinTalk.comCoin Chat” forum

 Invest in Silver: Apmex has incredible deals today.

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it—you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, the 1933 Double Eagle.

See you next week!