Inside a $100 Coin Collection - Thanksgiving Edition

This Thanksgiving, I’m grateful for my family, friends, fans and the hobby/investment/obsession that keeps on giving: coin collecting and silver stacking.

This week, a look into exactly what $100 can get you. Also, we dive deep into a collector question, and explore some of the biggest stories and sales from the week.

Happy Thanksgiving!

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer at bottom of email):

What was the first regularly circulating United States coin to feature an identifiable female, as opposed to a motif of Miss Liberty, and when was it first released?

If you’re not careful, you can find yourself spending pretty serious money on your coin collection. Sometimes, it’s worth it. Other times, you wish you’d had a budget you’d kept to.

This week on my channel, I put together what I believe is the best possible collection for $100. And I mean real, historical American silver coins.

Sound too good to be true?

Check it out:

We all know what Thanksgiving means. It’s well and truly the beginning of the holiday season. And what better way to celebrate than with buying your very own Silverpicker Christmas Sweater, as featured on this week’s video.

This week’s question comes via Reddit:

Well, the absolute first thing to do:

DO NOT CLEAN THE COINS!

Now that we’ve got that out the way, the next thing to do would be to divide the coins up by country. Do the best you can here.

Next, I would put to the side anything from the 1970s or later, simply because those coins are very unlikely to be worth much.

Now we’ve got something to work with. Remember that there are 3 things that determine a coin’s value:

  1. The date and mint mark.

  2. Extremely good condition

  3. Intrinsic metal value.

What I recommend here is use some of the free resources online to identify and value the coins.

For identification, I recommend the Coinoscope app or Numista.com. And for valuation, I suggest checking out my two videos on valuing coins (here and here). And if that doesn’t work, I recommend taking the coins to a local coin store (but don’t sell them yet!), or you can message me on Instagram @thesilverpicker.

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it - you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, the Susan B. Anthony Dollar.

See you next week!