An eBay Grab Bag Worth Grabbing?

Silverpicker Digest - Issue #6

News, tips, deals & more

Today’s digest together with:

Introduction

October. A newly minted month. The air is colder, the leaves are browner, and the great coin of life continues to roll on.

Time is inevitable, much like this newsletter in your inbox. This week, we explore a grab bag from Silverpicker friend Penny Haven. We also explore the world of error coins following a question online about a particularly suspicious one.

Here it is:

Collector’s Corner - The Good Kind of eBay Grab Bag

Recently, I purchased a grab bag from eBay.

What were you thinking, Silverpicker?

I know, I know. But this time was different. This one came from Michael of the Penny Haven YouTube channel. Michael’s been at it for a couple of years now, and actually asked me for advice a while back on how to get his channel off the ground.

He’s an all-round great guy and so, when I saw he had a grab bag to buy on eBay, I was curious to see what went into it.

To see what I got, including some bonus items he threw in, check out my latest video.

Promotional content

Less of the mystery, all of the value.

If you’re like me, you love a good grab bag. The feeling of opening up a package with no idea of what’s inside. The knowledge that you’re either unpacking literal silver…or just scrap metal. It’s addictive, but it’s not for everyone.

When you know exactly what you want, look no further than Apmex. For quality, fair prices and reliability, Apmex leads the pack - I’m a proud repeat customer.

Q&A - Ask Silverpicker

This week’s question is one I get all the time. Truthfully, it’s probably the thing I get asked the most:

OK, so a few things to unpack here:

It’s very easy to define what an error is, but it’s much harder to determine whether a specific coin actually matches that definition.

What is an Error Coin?

An error coin is a coin that has been damaged or compromised somehow during the minting process. However, anything that damages the coin after it’s been minted is referred to as PMD - or “post-mint damage”. This is not an error coin.

I often get sent coins that have been scratched or damaged in some way that makes it very clear that they are not errors.

Most of the time, the error you find is probably PMD.

So, what about this coin?

As many commenters mention, this coin is clearly two coins somehow cut in half to dupe unsuspecting new collectors into thinking they’ve got an error coin on their hands.

If you want to make sure you don’t get caught out like this, check out my video on exactly this topic.