My Biggest Regret

Silverpicker Digest - Issue #11

This week’s newsletter is a celebration of the best choices - and the biggest mistakes - you can make as a coin collector, silver stacker or, indeed, any kind of investor.

I’ve been in this game for over a decade now. I’ve been there, done that, got multiple t-shirts. And, while you should always do your own research, I’m here to impart some of the wisdom I’ve learned along the way.

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer at bottom of email):

Which was the first coin to cross the million-dollar mark in a public sale, achieving a hammer price of $1,485,000 in a 1996 auction?

How much can your money make for you? Well, in this week’s video I try and answer precisely this question, ranking my top 25 investment opportunities across coin collecting, silver stacking, precious metals investing, and more.

I’ve been working on this one for a while, and I genuinely believe I’ve put together a pretty awesome guide on this topic. And it goes without saying - I practice exactly what I preach here.

Check it out:

This week’s question comes via Reddit:

OK. A big question here. Let me take you back a few years, when I was just starting out in the buying and selling game.

I had an opportunity to purchase a very large collection of PCGS graded Morgan Dollars. Sounds good, right? Well, here’s what I got wrong:

  1. Most of the Morgan Dollars had the old PCGS cases. I didn’t realize at the time that the cases themselves were worth money, since there are people out there who collect specifically the old PCGS cases, in addition to the coins inside them.

  2. But my bigger mistake? Some of those coins had SPECTACULAR toning. Nevertheless, I sold them for at the price of non-toned coins. I had no idea toning garnered a premium. In some cases, I probably sold coins at 20% of their value.

But hey, one man’s loss is another’s gain, right? If the person I sold the coins to is out there reading this, I hope you got a good story to tell!

Buy with confidence: Check out my deep dive review of Apmex!

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it—you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, the 1913 Liberty Nickel.

See you next week!