$15 on Me: Bid Live, Win Big

Together with:

The clink of coins. The warm shine of light on silver. The rush of a live auction…

This week, dive into the vibrant world of numismatics with a special invitation to explore my personal collection at an exclusive Whatnot auction. And to get you started, I'm offering my readers $15 on me.

But first, pop quiz, hotshot (answer at bottom of email):

What year was the first U.S. Silver Dollar minted?

Promotional content

It’s like if Twitch and eBay had a baby…

No, really.

Imagine the market of eBay, the auctions, the potential to get great deals you don’t find anywhere else - and the live entertainment value of Twitch.

Introducing Whatnot, the live video auction platform for all things collectible, including, you guessed it, coins, currency, and silver.

I’m already a devout convert. And you can get $15 free Whatnot credit with my link. I’ll see you at my next auction!

OK, time for me to give back.

This week in my Whatnot auction, I’m selling some favorite silver coins from my own personal collection, acquired and cared for with love by yours truly. By this point, I like to think I’ve got some taste!

What’s more, I’m giving my readers $15 FREE in Whatnot credit. Since some of the coins I’m selling start at a price of $1, there are some great opportunities for free silver!

March 17th 2024 at 5PM EST

Check out the preview:

This week’s question is from Reddit:

The environment plays a huge role on how a coin looks, especially over a long period of time. If one side is lustrous and the other isn’t, there are two main explanations:

  1. One side of the coin was protected, while the other side was not. For example, imagine it was sitting in some kind of coin album in a collection, with one side protected by the cardboard, and the other open to the elements. This could be similarly true of a display case or any other storage solution. Air and humidity play big roles, while in some cases the “protective” case itself is what causes the damage.

  2. One of the sides may have been cleaned. Non-numismatists will routinely clean a coin because they think it’ll look nice to shine it up. To a trained eye, however, removing the mint luster gives the coin a flat, ugly look.

The coin in the image is pretty old. So it may have been cleaned years ago, giving it that flat look we’re seeing here.

Pop quiz answer: Well done, those of you who got it - you go straight to the top of the class. The answer is, of course, 1794.

See you next week!